Are there certain emotions that create happiness?

I have just read an interesting article about a study on happiness by the Hebrew University in Jerusalem, stating that happiness is not so much about feeling nice feelings and avoiding painful ones. More so, it is about being able to feel or express feelings you desire (or need to).

This resonated with me, as I have had some very painful experiences in my life, as many people do. In fact none of us escape them. However I am a very happy person (most of the time!). For anyone who knows me, they will know that the most painful experience was the loss of a child in hospital 14 years ago when she was 15. However I have had a time in my life, only a short time – 1 year out of the 48 years I have now acquired, when I was in what transpired to be an unhealthy relationship. Unhealthy for me anyway.

I am and always have been, a very gregarious, fun, empathic person, with a very grown up life, but a free spirit and not wanting to fit in any box. To find myself negotiating my way through a relationship with a person who turned out to be a very conservative, possessive and controlling, was a shock to my system, even for someone, who had studied counselling and psychology as I had. So much of a shock, that it took me longer than I would have wished for to disengage from this particular relationship. Instead, what happened, as I tried to manage it, was that I suffered from huge anxiety, like I had never felt before. Heartburn, feeling sick, nervousness, loss of confidence, bad dreams, insomnia, and it transpired, the beginnings of a stomach ulcer. I became very unhappy.